Home » Uncategorized » Stupid Easy and Cheap

Stupid Easy and Cheap

Recently we did some “musical rooms” and I have a lot of my craft stuff in a room that my youngest will use on the rare times she will be visiting over the next year.  I replaced the old blind but it really needed something.  I saw this really cute idea from Shabby Chic called a “Rag” Valance.  There was nothing for me to buy since I have an abundance of leftover material and happened to have the curtain rod.

I used some leftover broadcloth that I cut into 2″ strips.  Most fabric is 45″ wide so I just went with that.

items

After you cut your material into strips I recommend ironing them (I also left mine folded in half when I ironed), it will give it a nice finished look.  Then you just start tying them on the rod.

knot

It is a little easier to get your strips tied closer to the center if you have a second pair of hands.  The amount of strips is a preference thing, just depends on how dense or sparse you want it to look.  This is what mine looked like

finished valance

This was stupid easy to make and didn’t cost me anything but time so it’s a win/win in my book.

Leave a comment